Mountain Biking in the Pine-Strawberry AZ Area

Jay riding the Pine-Strawberry Trail on his Salsa Fargo

Over the long weekend, Sharon and I agreed we needed to get out and camp somewhere. We decided on Rim Country based on the prediction of perfect weather. The prediction held true. I had a great morning riding the Pine-Strawberry Trail. I rode from our campsite off of Hardscrabble Road up to Fossil Creek Road. This portion of the dirt road was very fast on my bike, a Salsa Fargo 29er.  I then took the Fossil Creek Road on through the town of Strawberry and picked up the Pine-Strawberry Trail.

Unfortunately the video footage above is washed out or over exposed.  I hope future full sunlight footage will be better, as I plan to get a polarizing filter for the go-pro camera. I was wearing sunglasses, but the mixed shade/sun/shade made it hard for me to see at times. It’s so washed out that it is hard to see, but early on in the video the trail is quite steep and I just let the bike roll, plunging off of multiple ledges. Yes, it was a rough ride on a rigid bike.

I still really want to come back at some point and ride the Highline Trail/ Arizona Trail. Of course, if I am still in northern Arizona I do not think I will want to miss the Fire On The Rim race and festival.

2 responses to “Mountain Biking in the Pine-Strawberry AZ Area

  1. Your intro picture looks so benign and then the video is so “make sure your health insurance is paid up”! The video quality wasn’t too bad but it was a little hard to see the little white crosses along the edge.

  2. My dad (who lives in Strawberry) got Fire on the Rim going last summer. We helped out with the race and plan to be there this year, too. I just ran this trail last weekend actually-pretty tough! Hope you enjoyed it. -Carolyn Christianer

Leave a Reply

