Shout Out to my Bad Assets Teammates from the 24 Hours at Old Pueblo

Over the weekend the 24 hours of Old Pueblo mountain bike race kicked off at noon on February 19. The event is promoted by Todd Saddow so it helped to collect canned food as well as money for the Arizona Cancer Center. I had not planned on riding this event but had  always wanted to. So when I got a call asking if I would like to be a last minute substitute on the Bad Assets team with Kevin, Mary, Tom and my new friend Dan I could not turn it down. I figured it would be a fun opportunity not to be missed.

Click here to see some awesome pictures from the race

Boy was I right.  My team even chipped in and covered my entry fee. The food and beer was all set when I came on board.  In fact Tom prepared what proved to be the bacon highlight of the trip so far.  This took the form of a breakfast burrito featuring a fresh tortilla. The bacon was of course good but what made it special was the whole package.  Of course food cooked on a camp stove always tastes better.

CLICK HERE to read more about the race.

Example of a Cholla cactus

The racing action was fun since the course was well laid out and offered up some fun challenges. A flat straight course is a curse on a 24 hour event since it gets boring. This course was exciting and fun to ride even in the cold. The  Cholla cactus thickets required constant concentration in the wind and claimed one unknown rider early on. I sure hope they are alright and wish them a speedy recovery! The weather was truly awful with high winds, rain, fog and drizzle. This only cut into the number of laps  we did but not the fun.

Thanks again to the Team for a fun filled weekend!

12 responses to “Shout Out to my Bad Assets Teammates from the 24 Hours at Old Pueblo

  1. I never heard of this event! It sounds right up your alley! I’m glad you got to go, and I’m glad you had a great time! Too bad you couldn’t take pictures while riding… ;-D

  2. Nicely written – I see by your times that you were the official “ringer” on your team.

  3. So glad I had a moment today to look at your posts. I want to find a ride like that! And the camping in TX looked amazing. Dave doesn’t usually think fondly of anything to do with Texas, but when he sees these shots, he could change his mind.

  4. Great stuff! I’ve only ever done the SCOTT 24hr here in Australia in a duo before, but I think I team of 4 or 5 would be much more laidback and fun!!

    Here’s my race report from the Australian National XC Champs held last weekend if anyone wants a read:
    http://iamjameshanus.wordpress.com/2011/02/26/national-championships-2011/

    Happy pedalling!

    • I have always wanted to go to Australia, so much of it seems to still be wild. Looks like my kind of place. Nice race report makes me want to hop a jet and go check out the trails there.

  5. I like the pictures where the cacti (that’s the plural for cactus right?) are right off the side of the trail… That looks fun… I gues that’s one way to stop people from going off trail.

    • The trails at old pueblo are even kind of wide since the cholla cacti have been cleared out a little bit. Good for a race course. The Black canyon trail in central Arizona is only about 12″ wide and no one dares to take wide lines since the cholla are practically hanging into the trail. Black Canyon trail was built very recently and the vegetation was left very close to the trail intentionally by the builders to keep it narrow. I am still trying to brainstorm something other than poison ivy to use in Virgina as choke points to the single track single. Maybe there is a native wind rose that can be used?

  6. Melinda Bloom

    Jay, I’d love to know how these 24 hour races work – how many team members are on a course at a time? When do you sleep/eat? How do you follow the trail in the dark? Those cacti look dangerous! Do you have a staggered start? As you can tell, I know nothing about this type of race!

  7. Wow Melinda that is a lot of good questions. The course for this event was 16 miles long. There is a well marked official route. There two points on the course where the official route splits giving riders a long and easy option or a shorter and more challenging option. This is mostly so begining riders are not in over there heads, especially at night. I always went for the shorter more challenging line since for me its faster. Teams have many different categories which serves to separate the field into classes. While you are only racing the other teams in the same class, the entire field rides at once. Teams of male / female and coed teams exist in 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 person teams and are further separated by combine age. Each team may have only one rider on the course at any time. At the start / finish area there is a rider exchange area where riders sign in / out of the course. It works like a relay and there are batons. In order to spread out the mass start a little and make a safer race the start is Le Mans style. This means that the rider from each team that is starting must park there bike in a rack set up about a quarter mile from the start and every one lines up at the start and runs to there bikes which they then mount and ride off on. It also makes for a good spectacle. There are some rules that keep things more safe, even and fair. All riders must have helmets and any one starting a lap during the night or just before must have a working light of at least 150 lumens. Most have far brighter lights, mine is over 1000 lumens. Another rule for coed teams is that riders of each sex must for at least one night lap and 2 laps total. A general rule is that each rider must do a night lap. Also no rider on a team may do more than 2 laps more than another rider, after all its a team. Much of what happens when is decided by each team such as who eats and sleeps when, what order the team rides in ect. At most 24 hour events every one camps out and the sooner you get there the better the site.

  8. Pingback: A Year on the Road: By the Numbers | Service Driven

Leave a Reply

